Land of Lisp recursion understanding problem

Discussion of Common Lisp
lrj

Land of Lisp recursion understanding problem

Post by lrj » Fri Nov 19, 2010 7:53 pm

Hi Im new to LISP and am using CLISP on win 7.And trying to kearn from "The Land of Lisp"
What Im having a problem with is this
(labels ( (a (n)
(+ n 5))
(b (n)
( + (a n) 6)))
(b 10))
giving the answer 21.

Is "a" in this case a function that just adds 5 .
when passing 10 into function does it go into the n of (a n) and then gets 6 added to it. and why is (a n) brakected.
I think im almost getting it but would appreciate it very muchly if some could briefly annotate the lines above or give me some other clues
Very much appreciated
from sunny Tasmania

ramarren

Re: Land of Lisp recursion understanding problem

Post by ramarren » Sat Nov 20, 2010 2:00 am

Recursion is when a function is defined directly or indirectly in terms of itself. In the given example no such thing occurs. Use code tags to maintain formatting. Using standard Common Lisp (note that "Lisp" is usually spelled "Lisp", with non-capital letters) formatting the code sample appears as:

Code: Select all

(labels ((a (n)
           (+ n 5))
         (b (n)
           (+ (a n) 6)))
  (b 10))
LABELS is a special operator, which was probably explained in the book somewhere around the example. It defines local functions which are visible to themselves and each other (in which it is different than FLET). This particular example defines two such functions, and b is defined in terms of a. The parameter n is independent between those two functions, just as it would be between two global functions.

Paul Donnelly

Post by Paul Donnelly » Sat Nov 20, 2010 2:54 pm

Does it make more sense to you written like this?

(defun a (n)
  (+ n 5))

(defun b (n)
  (+ (a n) 6))

(b 10)
You've probably learned about LET*. LABELS is much like LET* for functions.

lrj

Post by lrj » Sat Nov 20, 2010 6:44 pm

Thanks Paul and Ramareen,