Newbie: How to add my own helper functions permantly?

Discussion of Common Lisp
mabu77

Newbie: How to add my own helper functions permantly?

Post by mabu77 » Wed May 18, 2011 1:41 pm

Hi all,

I am posting this being aware that it is maybe a totally dumb question and hoping that I did not miss something obvious. I am pretty new to CL (using SBCL on OS X) and only using it as a hobby in my spare time without any special purpose at the moment. While I found a lot of great material in the web teaching different aspects of why CL is so great at different levels I still have a very basic problem I could not find a clear answer for. With every new book, tutorial, etc. I get to know new functions, shortcuts, etc. which are pretty handy and which I want to keep for later usage.

I thought it would be best to have a module with all that functions and macros (maybe later different modules sorted by topics?) and "installed" it in such a way that my SBCL knows about it. While reading some stuff about require, adsf and quicklisp I got somehow lost and was wondering what would be a sane and easy way to just extend my local installation.

Is there anything like "the best way" to add "private" modules to a local installation?

Thanks in advance for every hint
Martin

Duke

Re: Newbie: How to add my own helper functions permantly?

Post by Duke » Wed May 18, 2011 4:06 pm

mabu77 wrote:I thought it would be best to have a module with all that functions and macros (maybe later different modules sorted by topics?) and "installed" it in such a way that my SBCL knows about it. While reading some stuff about require, adsf and quicklisp I got somehow lost and was wondering what would be a sane and easy way to just extend my local installation.