Best way to edit run debug with slime and emacs?

Discussion of Common Lisp
Post Reply
methusala
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 6:35 pm

Best way to edit run debug with slime and emacs?

Post by methusala » Tue Feb 24, 2009 9:08 pm

Thanks in advance lispers,

What edit, run, debug process with emacs and slime results in the fastest development speed?

My current approach: 3 windows open. 1 for lisp code file. 1 for help list of slime key bindings, 1 for slime-repl.

Type in a function. Reload whole file with c-c c-l, or eval region with c-c c-r.

There are a couple issues with this approach. When I load the file or region, the output of doing that shows up in inferior lisp. So I have to switch to that to see errors. I would prefer the output to show up in slime-repl. The second issue is another question-what's the big difference between the slime-repl window and the inferior lisp window?

M

ps- Since I have had to open a fourth window to show the inferior-lisp output, I'm pressing c-x o a lot to jump around between windows. Does anyone know how to jump between windows by number?

Paul Donnelly
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 11:26 pm

Re: Best way to edit run debug with slime and emacs?

Post by Paul Donnelly » Tue Feb 24, 2009 9:35 pm

I never look at *inferior-lisp*. I load code with either C-c C-c which compiles and loads the current top-level form, or C-c C-k, which compiles and loads the whole file.

It's strange that you're not getting errors in your repl. Have you loaded the usual set of contribs? The inferior Lisp stuff is part of Emacs, meant to let you call up a Lisp in a buffer. When using SLIME, it's just there for SLIME's use. You shouldn't need to mess with it at all.

EDIT: Although it sounds like you have more open windows than you need, I usually stick to no more than two windows per frame, and open up a new frame for my REPL if I'm messing with windows in my coding frame a lot. And there's always the mouse, which is probably the fastest way to select between a lot of windows.

methusala
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 6:35 pm

Re: Best way to edit run debug with slime and emacs?

Post by methusala » Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:00 pm

Thanks. I reloaded emacs and slime and it started showing the load messages in slime-repl. It occured to me I can just make keyboard macros for switching between windows, I'm working over putty so no mouse.

Post Reply