Best way to start on Windows : need advices

Discussion of Common Lisp
kib2

Best way to start on Windows : need advices

Post by kib2 » Mon Jun 30, 2008 6:19 am

Hi,

I'm new to Common Lisp, but setting up a good Lisp environment under my OS seems to me the major problem.

In fact, I've installed Slime + SBCL 1.0.13 on Emacs 22.
Now, I wanted to use some external libs, like vecto or cl-pdf. I've seen I have to use asdf-install, but how to install it on Windows ? [I've read this useful post, but I did not understood the last point in the additional notes section ]

When I look at projects like PLT-Scheme, there's a great multiplateform IDE, and no problems to install it: you just have to code.
Now, going to Common Lisp, you either have a choice between Emacs+Slime and you'll have to spent hours on to configure them for a newbie, and proprietary tools like Allegro or LispWorks (yes, with restricted free versions) why ?

Nothing to the above, but maybe that can help some of you. Here's a Firefox plugin (working with version 3) that brings a BBCode bar for forums like this one : BBCode bar

See you,

Kib.

pTymN

Re: Best way to start on Windows : need advices

Post by pTymN » Mon Jun 30, 2008 6:22 am

I enjoy Corman Common Lisp. http://nightschool.near-time.net

candera

Post by candera » Mon Jun 30, 2008 6:31 am

I'm just a dabbler, but I've found SLIME+SBCL to be a pretty nice environment. I don't bother with ASDF-install. I just unzip the archives I need into the sbcl directory. It's slightly annoying, but still easier than getting ASDF-install working under Windows.

ryepup

Post by ryepup » Mon Jun 30, 2008 6:53 am