Multi-core utilization in SBCL

Discussion of Common Lisp
Yaotzin

Multi-core utilization in SBCL

Post by Yaotzin » Thu Aug 21, 2008 4:35 pm

I'm new to SBCL and Common Lisp in general, and I recently ran into a bit of a problem and have struggled(gooogled) for hours to find a good solution or even explanation, to no avail.

The program I'm writing currently creates ~12 threads which run concurrently, and I expected that between them all they'd be able to occupy all 4 CPU cores in my system, but it appears as though only one core is seeing any activity from them.

The SBCL manual here: http://www.sbcl.org/manual/Threading.html#Threading specifically says that threads can take advantage of hardware multiprocessing. Am I missing/misunderstanding something? Is there something I'm likely to be doing wrong?

findinglisp

Re: Multi-core utilization in SBCL

Post by findinglisp » Thu Aug 21, 2008 8:50 pm

SBCL should utilize multiple cores. It uses native threads. You're likely doing something wrong, but I have no idea what it might be.
Cheers, Dave
Slowly but surely the world is finding Lisp. http://www.findinglisp.com/blog/

metageek

Post by metageek » Fri Aug 22, 2008 7:43 am

I don't know SBCL threading specifically, but here's some sorts of things that you could run into in any threading environment:
  • Your task may be I/O-bound instead of CPU-bound (that is, it spends most of its time waiting for, say, disk access).
  • You may have too-large locks, which wind up serializing the program so that threads spend most of their time waiting for locks.
  • If your threads are using a producer/consumer model, you may be bottlenecked on the producer.

blandest

Post by blandest » Fri Aug 22, 2008 7:56 am

I've managed to get 100% CPU utilization on a dual core system with just 2 threads. Try this:

(dotimes (k 2) (sb-thread:make-thread (lambda () (loop with x = 0 do (incf x)))))